Gone Wandering

Little India, SingaporePhoto: me!

Little India, Singapore
Photo: me!

Tomorrow I leave for two weeks in India and for some strange and unusual reason my bag is packed, fridge is empty except for milk and a mooncake (don’t ask), and my bedroom is moderately tidy. Furthermore, there is a novel on my hard drive, a suitcase full of books and gifts (the ones that weren’t edible) sitting in the corner waiting for when I turn back to the airport and jet off to Australia, and the strange sensation that everything is going to be fine.

I even went grocery shopping yesterday and got all three things on my list.

Fortunately, I haven’t had to put my Zombie Apocalypse Survival Plan into action.

I have spent the past week feeling terribly anxious and experiencing feelings of all-round blegh. While people are asking me if I’m excited about the holidays, I’m staring blankly at them trying to remember if I put pants on before I left the house and not wanting to check in case I haven’t – ignorance is bliss.

That feeling has passed. I now have the nervous thrill of pending adventure sitting in my stomach, and the next 48 hours will pass quickly – I’m working today and tomorrow, so the time will surely twirl past. In 48 hours I will be in Delhi – hopefully checked into my hotel and sound asleep. Not that glamorous, but it will get better!

See you in two weeks!

7 comments on “Gone Wandering

  1. Being Indian myself, can’t wait to hear about your adventures in India!! And you were in Delhi, which has been in the news recently for a horrendously tragic event 😦 I hope you had a safe, enjoyable trip πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I had wonderful adventures! Fortunately it was a safe and enjoyable trip (and many other adjectives), though I’ve been following the recent news with a very heavy heart. I get very upset when horrible things happen in places I love.

      • I’m glad you liked it πŸ™‚ I love my country although there are days when I can’t for the life of me imagine why!! The best way I can explain is…it’s the way it gets under your skin and in your face…impossible to ignore or remain indifferent. It’s almost like it demands a reaction…good or bad isn’t important!

        Look forward to reading your adventures and the various adjectives πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

