Book Lust

Every now and then you come across a book that makes your heart rate increase and sweat form on your palms. What is it about this book that makes you yearn for more? Is it the characters you can not only relate to but feel like they have been formed from a portion of your own soul? Is it the world constructed on the pages that inspires you to reconsider the perception you have of the world in which you reside? Is it the twists and turns of the plot, so elegantly constructed that you are drawn in without pause to consider how you will extricate yourself by the end?

Lately I’ve had a “dry spell” when it comes to books. I churned through several that felt as though I was eating protein shakes and sugar-free chocolate instead of a wholesome three-course meal (with extra dessert). Hoping they would be fulfilling (all the reviews said they would be great, all the reviews promised I’d be satisfied), I was left wistful and suddenly apathetic toward the world of books. I dreaded picking up another only to have it shred my expectations for a good story and decent characters, so it was with careful and somewhat reluctant hands that I picked up Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (which I’ll review when my literary high comes down to a manageable level).

After several hours and changed positions on and around my bed, I turned the last page and let my mind whirr.

Today, I have serious book lust.

I want to read more, more, more, more, more. I want to consume the unread books that sit in a pile beside my bed (and on my desk and in my cupboard) and let their characters dance through my mind. I want to pull the covers over my head and savour every word that has been printed across the page until I feel some inkling of bookish satisfaction, an indication that my book lust may finally be sated.

The world needs more books that set your heart racing and make your palms sweat.

20 comments on “Book Lust

  1. Ah, I remember my last bout of Book Lust. It was David Sedaris book lust. Took me a while to get over that. (Come to think of it, I don’t think I fully got over it at all. David Sedaris… Mmmm….)

    Do excuse me, I need to go do… something.

    Great post, Stef. πŸ˜‰

  2. I love that feeling. I know all too well how it’s like to go through several terrible books successively, and then come across a wonderful story… it makes it all so much sweeter and satisfying!

  3. I love that feeling! I call it the big book hangover – when I finish a book that was absolutely brilliant – I can’t get over it for days! They are the books that completely shake our world. I have just recently finished ‘Cloud Atlas’ by David Mitchell – and wow, what a read! Unfortunately the next book I picked up is still living in its shadow, but I’m sure there’s a wonderful world of such killer books waiting out there!

  4. Great post! I’m in the throes of book lust at the moment too. The protein-shakeness (yes, I have made that it into a word – you’re brilliant!) of a Kathy Reichs book made me shrivel into a corner and whimper for a few days until I got out my Chris Carter book that had been sitting on my shelf for a month. Well, Mr Carter certainly knew which buttons to press because for the past 3 months I haven’t put a book down! Love it! It’s a magnificent feeling! πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! I have never heard of this book but you’ve certainly made it sound inviting! I know the feeling of book lust very well and I’m glad you’re still riding high on it’s glorious wave!

    Hope you’ve been well Stef πŸ™‚

  6. Isn’t it lovely when that happens? Hope you find more in the way of satisfying fodder, and less of the protein shakes and sugar-free chocolate! (Is there such a thing? What an abmoniation!)

Leave a Reply

