My Weekly Writing Wish for You

Slowly but surely, as the tortoise would say; that has been my approach this week. And I have been astonished by how much work I’ve actually completed just by organising my tasks into bite-sized pieces. Don’t get me wrong, I’m the kind of girl who can (proven) demolish a whole cake without hesitating, fork optional. But this week has been a gentle week – and I feel like I’ve achieved more because of it.

I’m accustomed to ploughing on, marching forward at a brisk pace with my line of sight distracted only by quick glances to check for snipers (when I remember). I just move, move, move because if I stop moving … how am I going to get anywhere?

This week I didn’t stop, but I did slow down. I was kind to myself, an art I’m still mastering, and I set myself a simple task to complete each day. Most days I completed two or more, because the feeling of triumph when I completed the first motivated me to keep going.

Some days I forget there is a middle ground. Some days I’m marching on at such a speed that the snipers do sneak up on me – and then I am forced to stop. And I don’t go anywhere.

Going slow this week has calmed me. My writing continues – slowly. My work continues – slowly. And I’m feeling better about my approach to my writing because I now have the time to recognise what is working and what is not. Slowly but surely.

My writing wish for you this week is for you to review the pace at which you write. Are you going too fast or too slow? Have you stopped altogether? What pace will work best for you? Pace yourself – and pay attention to what’s going on around you.

3 comments on “My Weekly Writing Wish for You

  1. Calm is good. The tortoise is one of my favourite philosophers and life-coaches, I’d advise heeding his example. 🙂
    Oh and that “fork optional” bit actually made me laugh out loud! 😀
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

