Inspire Me

Maurice Sendak, author of Where the Wild Things Are (among many other beautiful books), passed away this week. In this clip, he muses on life, death, and his work …

Doing books, doing pictures … it is the only true happiness I have ever, ever enjoyed in my life. It’s sublime.

You’re doing the one thing you want to do and you do it well and you know you do it well, and … you’re happy.

May you find your ‘one thing’.

8 comments on “Inspire Me

    • Indeed. I like to think of what he gave to books and children in life rather than what was taken by his death. What a legacy to leave!

  1. Thank you so much for posting. The clip & Maurice Sendak are amazing. I had to wipe away a few tears but I was left feeling happy, grateful & inspired 🙂

    • I am aware that he has shared a lot of wisdom over the years – this is just some of it, and I’m glad you have been inspired. I’m sure you weren’t the only one left wiping your eyes – I still get teary thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

