Weekly Grammar Tip: practise/practice

What’s the difference between ‘practise’ and ‘practice’?

Like affect and effect, practise and practice have two different uses based on the fact that one is a noun and one is a verb.

PRACTISE is the verb, as in “to practise singing”.

I enjoy practising how to make the perfect cup of coffee.

I like to practise my singing in the shower.

PRACTICE is the noun, as in “the doctor’s practice”.

I love Thursday afternoons when the neighbour commences his violin practice. Really.

I forgot to go to dancing practice yesterday.

The difference between practice and practise can be very confusing – I know I always hesitate before writing either.

If you can “do” something, use “practise” (the verb). The verb “practise” should be interchangeable with other verbs, for example:

I enjoy piano practise. = I enjoy piano play. WRONG, you need to use “practice” in this context.

I enjoy practising piano. = I enjoy playing piano. RIGHT!

The verb “practice” should be interchangeable with other nouns, for example:

I enjoy practicing piano. = I enjoy music(ing) piano. WRONG, you need to use “practise” in this context.

I enjoy piano practice. = I enjoy piano music. RIGHT!

 

I PRACTISE my patience when the neighbour starts his violin PRACTICE.

8 comments on “Weekly Grammar Tip: practise/practice

  1. Pingback: Weekly Grammar Tip: advise/advice « dodging commas

  2. We in the Philippines use practice with a ‘c’ for both the verb and the noun, much in the same way I guess that we don’t use ‘prioritise’ over ‘prioritize’ and your ‘favourite’ is our ‘favorite’.
    But then we also use advise (v.) and advice (n.).
    You’re right, it can get confusing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

