My Weekly Writing Wish for You

If you wait for inspiration to write; you’re not a writer, you’re a waiter.

– Dan Poynter

There is nothing more wonderful than having someone believe in you. The people who inspire us to write do more than just inspire – they motivate, encourage, support, and believe in our abilities. This is a current theme not only on this blog but also in my life. I’ve spent years battling the question of “What do you want to be when you grow up?” only to have certain people look at me with a strange, confused look as they query: “What, you mean you aren’t going to be a writer?”

Everyone else seemed to know the answer to the question I kept repeating. It was my own belief in myself that was letting me down; I was still caught up trying to be a teacher or an editor or an eternal student.

It is strange to think that it is now, alone in Singapore, I feel more supported than I’ve ever felt. Why? Because I’m writing. I’m writing every day. I’m back to scribbling frantically in notebooks and texting myself ideas as they come. I’ve joined a writing group, I’ve got my goals of 7,000 words each week and three novels this year, and I have friends and family regularly asking me how my writing is going.

How is it going?

It’s getting there. I’m writing. I’m writing about different things each day, and some days I go back and revise and continue. I’ve got a novel underway – one that shocks me because it’s not something I ever thought I write (it’s Chick Lit, not Fantasy for children).

original image source unknown

I began at the beginning. Now, I’m still going. And it’s good to be going. It’s great to be writing.

My writing wish for you this week is for you to write. Set aside some time each day and write – write about something you saw, write about a person you think about often, write about writing. Don’t be a waiter. Be a writer.

This post has also been cross-posted at Budding Writer’s League.


10 comments on “My Weekly Writing Wish for You

  1. Pingback: My Weekly Writing Wish for You | dodging commas

  2. Excellent post!
    To keep writing and keep working at it – big, small and anything in between – is a philosophy I’ve been trying to stick for a while now and published or not, it feels great.
    Cheers and hope you finish those 3 novels so we can all read them someday soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

