Weekly Grammar Tip: bought/brought

What’s the difference between ‘bought’ and ‘brought’?

BOUGHT is the past tense of buy, for example:

I will buy some wine.

I bought some wine.

BROUGHT is the past tense of bring, for example:

I will bring chocolate.

I brought chocolate.

Think of how you would talk about the object in the present tense (did you buy it or did you bring it?) and use the past tense accordingly!

I BOUGHT some lovely wine yesterday and would have BROUGHT it to share, but I drank it all last night.

This grammar tip was sponsored by my sister. And yes, the weekly grammar tips are back.

6 comments on “Weekly Grammar Tip: bought/brought

  1. Pingback: 20 LINES A DAY – an exercise in discipline

  2. Thank ye for the post!
    Not enough people make an effort to properly learn the language and instead give in to slang and ‘common parlance’ (as it were…).

Leave a Reply

