Trust and a pair of scissors

I have a wonderful hairdresser at home in Australia. I haven’t always had a wonderful hairdresser and this is mainly due to the fact that at the age of 14 I went off for a haircut that resulted in a hideous, ugly, short, bowl-shaped disaster. I wasn’t an especially confident teen, so to have this happen at such an age was a little bit scary, to say the least. I’ve been fussy about my hairdresser ever since (after the three years it took to get me back into one) – to the point of great drama and angst when it comes to trying out a new one. While I don’t consider myself especially vain, I do enjoy that special feeling of freshly dyed hair styled to perfection, and I am especially fussy because – let’s face it – getting a cut and colour these days isn’t exactly cheap.

For the last couple of weeks I have looked like a scarecrow; dry ends, dark regrowth, and an assortment of other hair ailments have left me feeling quite apathetic about my hair and I’ve been bundling it back in a pony-tail for about three weeks now. It was time, despite procrastinating for six weeks, to find a hairdresser in Singapore.

Fortunately, someone was able to recommend a place and I set out yesterday with high hopes of not looking hideous. I also had a terrible, terrible feeling that it would end with the purchase of a new hat. Or at least the shedding of a few tears. Mine or the hairdresser’s – I don’t discriminate.

In I went.

Down I sat.

“I’m going to cut your hair, then hand you over for the colour.”

“Oh? Oh. OK.” Don’t you want to colour it first? What about pictures? Should I show you some pictures? *GULP*

A smile.

“Is there anything you had in mind?”

“Not too short? Keep it as long as possible?” Don’t make me look like someone upturned a mixing bowl on my head!

“I’ll need to take a fair bit off. Your ends are in very poor condition.”

I hesitate. The scissors hover.

“You know what? I trust you. Do what you think needs to be done.” And I sat back while the scissors snipped, the dye comb sloshed, and the blow dryer … blew.

Damn fabulous. Definitely one of the best cuts and colours I’ve ever had.

And it got me thinking of all the times I’ve wanted to do something but have been too worried or nervous or afraid.  Sometimes, you have to trust that others know what they’re doing, and you’re going to be just fine.

15 comments on “Trust and a pair of scissors

  1. Pingback: My Weekly Writing Wish for You « dodging commas

  2. I love walking out with a good haircut. Then I never want to wash it because I know I’ll never get it looking the same. I lived in Singapore for 3 years. Where did you go?

    • Crown Centre on Bukit Timah Road. They were lovely, lovely, lovely – Put me at ease right away, even though I arrived in a flurry because I was late (the bus driver seemed content to drive the whole way in first gear).

  3. I let my sister cut my hair last month. From what people tell me, that was a particularly trusting move.

    Meh. I’m too lazy to think too hard about it. I can’t think of what damage she could do.

    (…Famous last words, perhaps?)

  4. That is great- I’ve had anxiety about getting my hair cut as well, just because it is different (And more expensive). I’ve heard a lot of people having the same issue as well as success and horror stories, but the point is that you are right- you have to just do it, whatever “it” might be.

Leave a Reply

