My Weekly Writing Wish for You

I haven’t done a lot of writing this week. I have, however, done a lot of thinking. Not all of this thinking was good. Actually, a lot of it revolved around those little voices of doubt that like to make an appearance every now and then – usually right when I’m starting to feel good about things.

I’ve been restless. A little bit apathetic. I’ve spent this morning staring aimlessly and feeling a tad jittery … This is different to the general feeling of blegh (and really, that’s the most accurate description I can come up with) I’ve had all week. I’ve had inspiring conversations but when it comes to sitting down and writing I’m left feeling … inadequate. What’s the point? I’m writing crap, drivel, nonsense.

Last night I came home to find a link from my mother with a video clip of an extract from Ira Glass on Storytelling.

Interestingly, I’ve had these words sitting on my computer for a few weeks now, waiting for the right time to actually sit down and read them, not just scan it and think “oh, that’s great, I’ll use that”.

Here they are again:

Wise, wise words. Of course my writing is terrible. It’s supposed to be. And it will be for a while. And that’s OK.

My writing wish for you this week is for you to embrace the faults in your writing. Love them, learn from them, and be brave enough to follow Ira Glass’ very wise advice:Β 

Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap, and your work will be as good as your ambitions.

This post has also been cross-posted at Budding Writer’s League.

11 comments on “My Weekly Writing Wish for You

  1. Pingback: Exhaustion, a Glass of Wine, and Post-It Notes | dodging commas

  2. Pingback: My Weekly Writing Wish | Budding Writers League Ltd

  3. Hi Stef,

    Do you think you can enable full articles in your RSS feed? It is much easier to read them in the Google Reader. I would still visit the website when I have to post comments on your amazing writing pieces.

    Cheers.
    Hope your stay in Singapore continues to be exciting and inspiring.

    • Ha! I thought I DID select “full text” as no one has mentioned anything until now. Done!

      I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. Singapore is still wonderful – thank you for your warm wishes.

  4. Absolute and total truth.
    And the thing is I find that so long as you are writing something, anything, bloggin variety, scribbling a random concept you want to turn into a story someday, a limerick even – so long as you’re at it you’re doing well.
    I started using the 750 words every day practice for a bit when I really fell behind and though there was gibberish, in the end I got into the flow of it and now I’m feeling more confident.

    And no disrespect to Ira, but I don’t think that we necessarily write badly all that long – that varies – so much as we have ‘good taste’ and our benchmark is something remarkable and exceptional and reaching that is not just good writing but great writing.
    I at times loathe my writing but people have read it and been enamored and engaged and enjoyed it thoroughly and that made me realise that no matter what, chances are I will for a long time to come, always find my own writing short of my imaginary mark. And you know what? I’m ok with that.

    Keep writing and keep dreaming Stef. Cheers!

    • Aw, thank you for your encouragement!

      I understand what you mean about others loving work you think is terrible; I think that the curse of the perfectionist means nothing will ever be good enough, even if it’s “good enough” for others. Maybe we need to strive not just for “perfect” writing by our personal standards but for a way to acknowledge that the fact we have the courage to continue to write despite our feelings of inadequacy is cause of celebration, too.

      I mean, any excuse for another glass of champagne, right?

      • Now you’re getting it! πŸ˜‰
        Look forward to seeing more of your writing and hopefully someday you’ll be on shelves and the like and I can then nod wisely and tell stories of how I once helped when you were down on your writing. πŸ˜€
        Cheers!

  5. Hey Stef! This has been my inspiration since I saw it somewhere on the web. It’s what gets me through all the shitty writing I do, whether for a living or for fun. The thought that someday, all this crap will have been worth it.

Leave a Reply

