G is for Gamble

Taking chances. Taking risks. Taking a gamble. It’s all about the challenge, right? I am terrible at making decisions. No, wait … I’m excellent at making spontaneous decisions and terrible with relenting to the little voices that nag and question my decisions. I am a big believer in following your intuition, but it’s a very hard thing to do when your critical brain questions everything.

I was fairly confident that, in moving to Singapore, I would be challenged and given some great opportunities. Looking for a place to live, however, is a whole new challenge. When your expectations can’t be matched by your budget, you learn very quickly that something needs to change. You can take a gamble on the slightly dodgy apartment that uses the maximum budget you’ve allocated to rent, or you can take a gamble that your real estate agent might find you something better – or not, and you’re stuck in an expensive hotel that far exceeds your means.

It’s hard to not know where you are, or what the area is like. Taking an agent’s word for it is even harder because, let’s face it, most of them have got their eyes on their commission. Singapore is safe, which is great, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t have a red light district, seedy bars and other colourful pockets. So you take a gamble. You say “sure, I’ll look at an apartment in the same suburb as the red light district” and your agent says “that back door looks pretty flimsy but it’s safe, it’s Singapore”.

Or, you switch agents. Which is what I did. And suddenly, it doesn’t feel like such a gamble anymore. After spending every waking minute in a panic over what was and wasn’t being shown to me, I had an hour in which I viewed two near-perfect places. Neither was a gamble.

I sign my lease tomorrow. Oh, did I mention I can see Indonesia from my bedroom window?

7 comments on “G is for Gamble

  1. Pingback: Z is for Zest « dodging commas

  2. Pingback: H is for Home « dodging commas

  3. I’m glad you’re getting settled. Finding a place to live must take a lot of stress and anxiety away from the move and give you some normality and routine to look forward too. It all sounds fantastic!

    • Overall, life is gooooood! It’s amazing how “little things” can stress you out, but then I sit back and breathe and realise that I’m in Singapore – that’s pretty fabulous, if you ask me!

Leave a Reply

