Book Review: ‘Linger’ by Maggie Stiefvater




Book Title: Linger

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: Fantasy / Paranormal Romance

Summary: This is the second book in a trilogy that I’ve seen referenced as the Shiver Trilogy and The Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy (the former being most common). Grace and Sam have more issues to overcome as they face having to deal with Grace’s parents and their reluctance to accept Sam as a viable long-term option, and Grace’s health deteriorates as they attempt to overcome her parents’ reaction to Sam’s almost constant presence in Grace’s life. With the addition of new werewolves and tension between the human population and the wolves, the novel promises more action that what was present in Shiver.

Favourite Scene: When Sam receives his birthday present from Grace – I completely understand the feeling of “I hope I like it” when someone you love gives you a present, and the relief when you do!

Favourite Character: Isabel. She has grown and I’ve come to appreciate her – especially as her perspective is given in the novel and it’s easier to understand why she is the way she is – and how she grows and becomes something more.

Review: Linger gave a lot more dimension to Sam and Grace’s relationship that, if it was absent, would have made it more a love-obsessed teen-angst novel than a lyrical love story. I especially enjoyed having more perspectives offered to me – this isn’t just Sam and Grace telling their love story anymore. Isabel surprised me (happily so) and I marvelled at her strength (and weaknesses) as a character. Cole was the bigger surprise because at first I did dismiss him as an arse – and I would trudge through his perspective reluctantly. I began to appreciate him as a character and as having a significant role in the story, however, as the novel progressed. Entertainment-wise, the series continues with its promise of love and all the gooey bits in between, but it is in the plot and the poetic prose that Linger really steps up from Shiver.

5 comments on “Book Review: ‘Linger’ by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Five months on (terrible, ain’t it?) and I’ve FINALLY read the entire trilogy!

    And my God, they were brilliant. Right now I’m in that “what-a-great-series-but-now-I-know-there-aren’t-going-to-be-any-more” funk, but it was fantastic, nonetheless.

    I agree with you entirely; the character development, particularly Isabel’s and Cole’s, was so wonderfully done, I simply got drawn in to every aspect of the story, regardless of the current perspective.

    …Now what do I read? o__O

  2. Pingback: Book Review (or, a life reviewed through books) « dodging commas

  3. Pingback: Book Review (or, a life reviewed through books) « dodging commas

Leave a Reply

