Book Review: ‘Shiver’ by Maggie Stiefvater



Book Title: Shiver

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: Fantasy / Paranormal Romance

Summary: This is the first book in a trilogy that I’ve seen referenced as the Shiver Trilogy and The Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy (the former being most common). Since surviving an attack by the wolves, Grace has always felt a kinship to the pack and to the yellow-eyed wolf that watches her from the woods. Then she meets and falls in love with Sam, and as winter approaches Grace and Sam must work out how they can be together before the cold sets in.

Favourite Scene: When Sam first sees Grace in the bookshop – it’s a gorgeous insight into both characters, and a representation of their relationship; so close, yet so far.

Favourite Character: Olivia. I especially love how she *clamps hands over mouth* (no spoilers here!) at the end of the novel …

Review:  There was such a lovely simplicity to the plot that made this a romance story through and through. Of course, the story continues in two more novels and I was terribly eager to get through them all (and did so within twenty four hours … yes, I’m a nerd, I know). I really love Stiefvater’s writing – there are some gorgeous descriptions and imagery that makes you feel like you’re walking through the woods yourself (as opposed to being curled up in bed in the early hours of the morning with the cat on your chest wondering why the light is still on). I was worried that the ‘obsessive teen love’ would give me flashbacks to Twilight but there is a strength to the characters that gives them dimension despite the simple plot. As an escape into romance (complete with wistful sighs), I highly recommend Shiver. And let’s face it, any man who can quote Rilke has me at ‘arrooo’.

5 comments on “Book Review: ‘Shiver’ by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: Book Review (or, a life reviewed through books) « dodging commas

  2. Pingback: Book Review (or, a life reviewed through books) « dodging commas

  3. Pingback: Book Review: ‘Linger’ by Maggie Stiefvater « dodging commas

  4. Hear hear!

    I read Shiver some time ago, but guiltily admit I have yet to finish the trilogy. But I will get onto it within the next few weeks! I am really looking forward to it, I enjoyed the first book so much.

    😀

    • Alas, I am quick to get addicted to characters and plots, so I churned through them quite quickly! I’d love to know what you think – I found them very entertaining from a ‘quick read’ perspective.

Leave a Reply

