Book Review: ‘Wicked Lovely’ by Melissa Marr



Book Title: Wicked Lovely

Author: Melissa Marr

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Summary: Aislinn can see fairies and has to keep this secret in order to avoid their unwanted attention, but when the Summer King, Keenan, takes a particular interest in her, Aislinn trusts her secret with her friend Seth. Keenan’s pursuit of Aislinn could have dire consequences for her and for her relationship with Seth – not to mention the intentions of the cruel Winter Queen.

Favourite Scene: When Aislinn tells Keenan her decision – Melissa Marr is quoted in an interview as saying that the message of the novel is that “there are always choices” and this is well presented in the novel. It was a (predictable) relief that Aislinn proved herself to be a strong and discerning individual.

Favourite Character: Tavish. Very sensible in his advice, in my opinion!

Review:  I wrote this book down as a “to read” book when someone (and I’m very sorry, but I don’t remember who) referred to it as a favourite on their blog. That was about three months ago and it’s been sitting on my shelf for two months until I finally got around to reading it. I quite enjoyed the book overall (from an entertainment perspective) and the core message was quite clear. The importance of making decisions and the celebration of strong, independent female characters was well done. I don’t know why, but I didn’t like Aislinn – and it’s hard to review a book when the main character bothers you. Sure, she’s strong-willed and able to articulate her decisions, but she felt a bit … I don’t know. I wanted to slap her sometimes! While I don’t think it’s a book I’ll go back to and rave about endlessly, I found it to be easy to read and the characters were each unique – though I must admit, Seth was probably my least favourite because he was so damn nice (grow a freaking spine) and while I listed Tavish as a favourite character for his sensible advice, Donia is a definite “character of note”.

4 comments on “Book Review: ‘Wicked Lovely’ by Melissa Marr

    • I’m surprised to hear that, Jamie. I personally enjoyed every single book in the series, which was a first for me; often the final book feels like a let-down (e.g. “Harry Potter”).

      But each to their own! 🙂

Leave a Reply

