Everything you need, you have.

I woke up in the early hours of the morning with this phrase echoing in my mind:

Everything you need, you have.

I am a big believer in intuition and reading the messages the Universe sends you – yes, I’m a hippy at heart and when I’m not caught up being cynical and snarly I do enjoy a good meditation and reflection. Imagine, then, waking up with a start at four in the morning and having these words rest clearly in your mind, everything else completely absent. Just me, these words, and the cat looking at me like she knew exactly what was going on – she snuggled up to me a little bit closer and my heart beat slowed while I reflected. Everything you need, you have.

I thought about my boxes of books and my cupboard bursting with clothes and my strange collection of pens that have managed to breed in the coffee mug I use for a holder next to my laptop. I don’t need any of that stuff, no matter how sentimental they are to me. But don’t worry, every book will remain in my possession because giving them away or throwing them out is simply not a possibility.

So with the cat snoring beside me (and she snores pretty loudly for a small Burmese), I let the words fill my head. Lately I’ve been doing lots of research and planning into moving overseas (or just “somewhere else”). (What are you running away from, Stef? The ****ing parrot, actually.) But seriously, there’s a world of possibility out there (insert dramatic sigh, close up of wistful gaze gives way to panning shot of the landscape beyond) and I am one of those people who makes snap decisions and then procrastinates about following through, or researches and plans the decisions to the point that they never happen because I can’t decide. Yes, we’re back to those delightful choices again – and for the first time, ever, I have choices to make and nothing to hide behind.

  • When I finish my dissertation I’ll … well, it’s finished.
  • I have a job I don’t want to just give up on so … well, it’s done.
  • There’s a guy who really wants … nope, not anymore.

Right now, there’s just me. ME. Hello, me. What do you want? Because you’ll get it, if you just decide on it.

Life is simple. Nothing is as complicated as what we make it.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about NaNoWriMo this week, and about writing in general. I’ve been wondering how to best approach “writing my novel” – given I’ve written several already and never quite finish or never really go back to them for editing (we’ll talk about my foibles as a writer another time), I want this year to be different – but then, I want that every year.

Everything you need, you have.

I have everything I need. And it’s not about the material things, either. Yes, I have a wealth of resources at my disposal, as well as the support of some pretty fabulous people. But I also have myself, and it’s my own talents and abilities that is the “everything I need”.

You have everything you need. What are you going to do with it?

 

 

 

Being surrounded by very wise people on a daily basis, I didn’t know where these words came from, so I Googled (like any self-respecting Gen-Y would) and found the whole quote, ambiguously credited to Wayne Dyer, Beverly Sills and Sarah Ban Breathnach (in that order of “most referenced”).

Everything you need you already have. You are complete right now, you are a whole, total person, not an apprentice person on the way to someplace else. Your completeness must be understood by you and experienced in your thoughts as your own personal reality.

13 comments on “Everything you need, you have.

  1. Pingback: At the top of the “to do” list … « dodging commas

  2. Pingback: Nice things. « dodging commas

  3. You know after reading this yesterday that phrase was repeating itself in my head. Everything you need, you have. I really really love this! Thanks for making me think about it, it’s very true.

  4. You’re right, it’s not about stuff. The trick is knowing who and what you are yourself – which is undoubtedly a whole lot more than you think it is – and your ability to hang onto your personal power – ie your ability to know which are your own truths and which are the ones other people would like to foist upon you. I think age helps!

    • Wonderful wise words – thank you. It’s that “getting to know yourself” that does, indeed, take time – but I’m working on it early so I can enjoy being me for longer!

Leave a Reply

