30 Day Book Challenge – Day 25: Favourite book you read in school

Day 25: Favourite book you read in school

Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind – this novel introduced me to the fantasy genre and I haven’t looked back! It was also used to study Joseph Campbell’s Hero’s Journey model which I love. The whole unit and the novel have been very influential overall.

3 comments on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 25: Favourite book you read in school

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge « dodging commas

  2. “Swallows and Amazons” by Arthur Ransome is the one for me, or at least the whole series that this one kicks off. A very simple basis for fiction, basically a group of young British kids mucking around in the Lake District of England/Scotland, sailing and getting into mild trouble, beginning in 1929. My brother introduced these to me when he took me to the Detroit Library for the first time.

    I didn’t realize why these stories stuck with me until I re-read them about 10 years ago. These were well written stories, though dated, by a writer who previously covered the Russian Resolution and turmoil in China. One of the female characters, Nancy Blackett, influenced me to like strong female characters in my fiction, and come to think of it, in my journalism.

    • Sounds interesting – I will add it to my list! If you love strong females, Robin McKinley writes some gorgeous women. I’m in love with all of them!

Leave a Reply

