30 Day Book Challenge – Day 19: Book that turned you on

Day 19: Book that turned you on

I bought this little book at a second hand bookstore after bravely delving my hands into the depths of triple layered shelves and shadowed pockets of literature. I was intrigued by its old cover and its musty pages and whisked it to the counter (along with several others because I don’t like to buy single books in case they get lonely in the shopping bag on the way home).

In the car, with my boyfriend at the time, I opened this little treasure and my heart swelled. It was night and I read the words by the light of passing traffic and street lights. I read them aloud. I begged my boyfriend to understand how important these words were. I felt like my whole body would die if he didn’t comprehend how beautiful the language was, how special this little book had become, how very suddenly I felt attached to words on a page.

This book flicked a switch in me. I’ve always loved words and books, but Ten Articulate Men turned me on.

 

One comment on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 19: Book that turned you on

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge « dodging commas

Leave a Reply

