30 Day Book Challenge – Day 12: Book that is most like your life

Day 12: Book that is most like your life

As much as I sometimes wish my life was a book and – more often than not – wish I could skip ahead to see what happens, it isn’t. Sometimes I wish for a handsome prince, other times I wish for a cottage covered in roses, and sometimes I wish I could pull my covers over my head and find these things in a book since my own life doesn’t seem to feature any such setting or character or plot development.

I do have a very, very fond memory of a birthday cake for my eleventh birthday made by my very clever Mum. It was an open book complete with marshmallow bookworm and the writing across the top of the page read “Chapter Eleven”. It’s my favourite birthday cake, which is pretty wonderful considering other cakes that have featured in various chapters of my life include the chocolate upright piano (was I 7?), the hook-nosed witch (19), the pink and purple castle (21), and even the amazing meringue hazelnut chocolate torte that starred at every person’s birthday for about two years (I was around 8 then).

Maybe my life is most like that cakey book – sweet, easier than it looks (and easier than I make it), special, made with love, and to be thoroughly and completely enjoyed.

With a side of marshmallow bookworm.

3 comments on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 12: Book that is most like your life

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge « dodging commas

    • Thank you Susan! I must find a photo of it (er, somewhere) as the cake is very much a strong memory for me. I think I want a book cake every year for my birthday now!

Leave a Reply

