Guilty Pleasures

We all have them. Guilty Pleasures. The TV shows you don’t like to admit you watch, but you secretly make sure you’re home in time for every episode (Desperate Housewives, I’m looking at you … Don’t judge me!). We own CDs we pretend were ‘accidental’ purchases or gifts (I may have a Spice Girls CD rolling around somewhere. And Backstreet Boys. You’re judging me, aren’t you … ) but then there are guilty pleasures we read.

You know what I’m talking about.

My guilty pleasure was once fantasy in general. Trashy fantasy that wasn’t especially well written, but was a complete escape. It still is, but …

… you’re not allowed to keep those judgements up … I’ve moved on to vampires.

Mmmhmm.

Not sparkly vampires who need to grow a set (of fangs – what did you think I meant?) but clever vampires. Seriously. Cos that’s how I can justify my sudden vampire love. Intelligently written vampires.

Sunshine by Robin McKinley.

Fledgling by Octavia E. Butler.

Vampires re-vamped.

Am I going too far with the puns?

Reimagined vampires intrigue me. I somewhat enjoyed Scott Westerfeld’s Peeps (though The Last Days felt a little like emo wannabe vamps were invading my guilty pleasure) and I scoffed when I read City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. But … um … well, the scoffing isn’t always real is it.

Why do we feel so inclined to cover up our guilty pleasures? Is it wrong to enjoy something that you judge yourself for liking?

I’m going to consider this further. While sinking my teeth into the premiere of Teen Wolf. I hope I love it as much as I love True Blood.

Oh, quit with the judging. You love it too.

4 comments on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 18: Book you’re most embarrassed to say you like « dodging commas

  2. Oh ya, guilty pleasures, here they come: I didn’t miss one single episode of Sex in the City (I even lied about an appointment just in order to make it home in time and yes, I am a bad person.), there’s a Celin Dion CD downstairs which must have been given to me as a prank gift and I seriously enjoy british chick lit (impossible to read in public though, since all covers tend to be embarassingly pink. I am not woman enough to wear that kind of colour.)
    When I was younger I was seriously embarassed and didn’t dare to admit any of this, but growing older made me a tad bit more confident with regard to e.g. things I’ve done or songs I liked during the early nineties. And that feels kind of relaxed.

    • Glee is so amazingly corny and yet so addictive! I’m a loud and proud Gleek.

      I love True Blood too Stef…definitely nothing to feel guilty about there!

Leave a Reply

