Book Review: ‘The Ghost’s Child’ by Sonya Hartnett

This is a novel about life and death, love and loss … but it isn’t especially sad because the protagonist – regardless of the death and loss – has a beautiful way of perceiving her experiences. Sonya Hartnett is another of my favourite writers. There is something truly beautiful in her writing, regardless of which book you’re reading. She manages to sweep you up and away and completely absorb you – long after you’ve put the book down. The Ghost’s Child is the kind of novel that makes you weep for all the right reasons.

The novel follows the main character, Matilda, as she tells the story of her life to a boy who has appeared at her home. As she discloses the events in her life that brought her to this point, it’s easy to get caught up with the magic and poetry of Hartnett’s prose and I found the story especially resonated with me. I know I’ve been searching for the most beautiful thing in the world for a very long time …

This is the kind of book that’s easy to read but leaves you feeling like you’ve run a marathon at the end – you’ve accomplished something that you can feel deep in the thrumming of your heart and you wonder if you can ever properly communicate the experience. The Ghost’s Child was an especially moving novel which I enjoyed; I cried for Feather, I cried for Matilda, and I cried for myself.

One comment on “Book Review: ‘The Ghost’s Child’ by Sonya Hartnett

  1. Pingback: Write like nobody’s reading. « dodging commas

Leave a Reply

