messenger cover

Book Review: ‘The Messenger’ by Markus Zusak

Book Title: The Messenger

Author: Markus Zusak

Genre: Fiction / Mystery

Summary: Ed Kennedy inadvertently foils the escape of a bank robber and is proclaimed a hero. Cue the arrival of an Ace card and suddenly life changes for the underage taxi driver with not a lot else planned for his future. Unexpectedly, his life is filled with purpose as he is, through the Ace cards, nominated as the person who needs to care. Each card details tasks for him to complete – tasks that require he care about others, help others, and ultimately help himself.

Favourite Scene: I love that they get a parking fine for over staying the car park time limit – which they did because the bank was being robbed. Eye-rollingly funny!

Favourite Character: Ed. I know, I know. But how many people would just toss the Ace away and not answer the call? And just wait until the end …

Review: I’ve seen the novel listed as “Mystery” so I’m going to roll with that, as I’m not sure how to categorise the genre of The Messenger. Whatever box you want to slot it in, the novel is funny, uplifting, beautiful, and well-written, which you would expect of Markus Zusak if you’ve already read The Book Thief. The novel starts with humour and continues with comic aspects throughout, interspersed with fascinating characters who each have their own stories, and each need Ed to intervene in their lives. As Ed enters the lives of each character his life, too, changes. I read The Messenger at a time in my life when I, too, was feeling a lack of purpose and didn’t know which way to go … Perhaps this personal state of mind is the reason why I loved The Messenger so much and found the ending to be intriguing and poignant; I’m curious to know what others think of it!

9 comments on “Book Review: ‘The Messenger’ by Markus Zusak

  1. Awesome!
    I’ve been having a field day the last 24-36 hours finding books to read and names of authors to try out and several funny ones actually – now I can add another most interesting sounding one to my list.
    Thanks so much for sharing.
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

